top of page
#11 Museum Treasures v2a.jpg

The Collection

The Museum is packed to the rafters with military-related artefacts.

We have items from early actions such as the American War of Independence, to modern-day conflicts such as Afghanistan.

The Waterloo Room

This room contains some of our oldest and most unique treasures. It covers the Regiment's history from 1689 to 1899. The Salamanca Eagle  is listed by the Home Office as a British National Treasure. The Eagle was captured from the French 22nd Regiment du Ligne at the Battle of Salamanca in 1812 by the 30th Regiment of Foot.

#23 Museum Treasures_edited.jpg

The Salamanca Eagle

Captured from the French in 1812

The Medal Collection

Be dazzled by the many medals on display. Medals are a testament to a soldier's service and bravery. The highest award for valour is the Victoria Cross and the Museum owns five. Four are on display with one on loan to Blackburn Museum.


This VC was awarded to Colour-Sergeant John Lucas of the 40th Regiment for an action during the Maori Warsin New Zealand in 1861.

The Somme Room

This room is the Museum's main display gallery and traces the history of our Regiments through the 20th and 21st Centuries, from the Boer War through both World Wars to Afghanistan. Many amazing stories and artefacts are here to see and read.


This was a magazine produced whilst the soldiers were held as prisoners of war in Korea during World War 2.

The Quebec Room

Currently this room holds objects relating to the history of our Territorial Army battalions and their Militia and Volunteer predecessors. 


German breast plate captured during World War 1.

The Council Chamber

This beautiful room displays some of our most valued paintings and silver from all forebears of The Duke of Lancaster's Regiment. It also houses the silver drums of the 82nd Regiment of Foot (2nd Battalion, The South Lancashire Regiment). The drums were presented in memory of all their comrades who fell in the First World War.


Silver Drums

The Regimental Chapel

The Garrison Church of St Alban was completed in 1848 and is the second oldest Garrison Church in use in the United Kingdom. In 2006 it was named as the Chapel of The Duke of Lancaster's Regiment. The Church contains many colourful Regimental and other unit Colours, beautiful stained glass windows and memorials to the Regiment.


 Unit Colours laid up in the Chapel

bottom of page